FM Certifications & Designations

Designations are one way to promote your skills and capabilities with your employer or in the marketplace.

They usually require you to demonstrate industry experience and take specific training. Most also require you to maintain your designation through additional continuing education.

These designations are either general FM or industry / facility type specific

BOMI – Building Owners Managers International

  • RPA (Real Property Administrator)
  • FMA (Facilities Management Administrator)
  • SMT (Systems Maintenance Technician)
  • SMA (Systems Maintenance Administrator)

CoreNet Global

  • MCR (Master of Corporate Real Estate)
  • SLCR (Senior Leader of Corporate Real Estate)

IFMA – International Facility Managers Association

  • CFM (Certified Facility Manager)
  • FMP (Facility Management Professional)


  • CPM (certified property manager)
  • ARM (Accredited Resident Manager
  • AMO (Accredited Management Organization)
  • ACoM (Accredited Commercial Manager


  • RAM (Registered In Apartment Management)

NAA – The National Apartment Association

  • CAM (Certified Apartment Manager)
  • CAPS (Certified Apartment Supervisor)

NARPM – The National Association of Residential Property Managers

  • RPM (Residential Management Professional)
  • MPM (Master Property Manager)
  • CRMC (Certified Residential Management Company)
  • CSS (Certified Support Specialist)

PRSM – Professional Retail Store Maintenance

  • RFMP (Retail Facility Maintenance Professional)

RFMA – Restaurant Facility Management Association

  • CRFP (Certified Restaurant Facility Professional).